What’s a Bullet Journal?

IMG_0948Last year in the summer holidays I researched a lot of Bullet Journals and I started to use one, too. My last Bullet Journal is full since January and I started my second one.

But what is a Bullet Journal?

A Bullet Journal is a notebook which is personalized. Mostly you use it as a calendar and for to-do-lists. But you can do whatever you want. There are tons of videos on this topic. I guess the most important thing for a Bullet Journal is that you do what is working best for you. Some people have a page just for books that they wanna read. Others have only a calendar in there. Some are very colourful and elaborated but others are very minimalist. You can always change a page and use other stuff for the next month.

My first Bullet Journal

I will tell you my story about my Bullet Journal. So, you can imagine what a Bullet Journal is if you don’t know it.

As I said I started my Bullet Journal eight months ago. I bought a thin Leuchtturm 1917. Most persons used these notebooks and I wanted one of them, too. But they’re very expensive and it’s not necessary to use one of the Leuchtturm’s. Now I know that a thin notebook wasn’t the best idea. I had only space for five months.

I was very excited as I get started and also before. I watched hundreds of videos and I had another notebook that I used as a calendar where I tried some styles. You will probably make some mistakes and maybe you don’t like this style in your book but that’s okay. Mistakes are so normal in a Bullet Journal and personalized them much more.

 

My first two pages were a “Future Log”. A Future Log is just an overview for the whole year or in my case for the next six months. I had some little calendar with the numbers of the month and next to this a little box with some lines to write down birthdays, holidays or just some very important events.

 

 

 

On the next page, I had five circles and they represent the days of the week. I used a pie chart
and endorse my lessons for school with colour and the room number. At the bottom, I have a little box with the explanations of the colours. On the other side is a “Grade Tracker”. I wanted to write all my grades down but I missed that. I never used it. I also never used the schedule, either.

I saw so many pages for your Bullet Journal on the internet and I put a lot in my Bullet Journal that didn’t work for me. On the next pages, I have “Goals for the Year” and “Motivation”. I had some goals and some sentence that should motivate me but I nearly never looked that up. Another failed page is one where I wanted to write some wishes down. There isn’t any wish.

My next page that worked was “Year in Pixels”. The idea of this page is that you have a grid for the year. You paint every day one little box with the colour for your emotion of the day. As an example: I had light green for happy. If my day was a good day and I was happy my box was light green. At the end of the year, you have a colourful grid and it looks beautiful. Also, you ponder your day.

On the next pages, I have a Bucketlist. So, just stuff that I wanna do in my life. Three things I can tag as complete this year. That’s a really awesome feeling and you don’t lose your goals. On the other one, I drew a bookshelf. I wanted to draw a new book and put the title of the book that after I finished. Unfortunately, I missed that, too.

Now my monthly spreads start. I have an overview of the month. I write events and meetings down.I always have a “Habit Log”. My habit log is also just a grid and on the left side are the tasks that I wanna do daily or very often. Examples are doing sport, no sweets, reading, no alcohol, etc. At the end of the day, you sit down and fill every box of the tasks that you did. That’s just a very personal thing and you can change it every month.

I also had a sleep tracker and a study tracker. I just marked the time that I studied and slept.

After that, the weekly overview starts. I just had seven boxes. There I wrote down meeting, events and important things that I had to do. I wanted to check my hydration. So, I painted eight little glasses on the page. If I drank 250ml I full a glass with blue colour.

One idea that I really enjoyed was “A few lines a day”. You have two or three lines for every day in this month. Every evening you sit down and write one two three sentences that are about the day. I loved this idea. Especially if you wanna remember beautiful events but you don’t have time for a big journal. It’s a lovely idea.

My opinion

I love Bullet Journals. You can do so many things with them. Also, you are a little creative. Some people’s Bullet Journals are just a work of art. I also use some little doodles and also some quotes. I love to spend time on creating the new month at the end of a month. I think that a Bullet Journal is something for everyone because you can personalize it so much. It shows a lot of the character of a person. And I think that it can totally help if you wanna get more organized.

Maybe you are interested now and wanna know more. Let me know in the comments! Also if you have experience with a Bullet Journal I would love to know what you think about this topic.

Loni Keks ❤


Wednesday 03/28/18 – 05.09 PM

I think there will come more content on this topic!

One thought on “What’s a Bullet Journal?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.